How to Make Mayonnaise

mayo2

Mayonnaise is one of those things people either love or hate. I fall on the love side of the debate. And my favorite way to eat it is with artichokes. Incidentally, my husband’s family grew up eating artichokes with melted lemon and butter; I have converted him to mayo!

Spring is artichoke season, so we wanted to feature our friend Sondra’s homemade mayo recipe. This stuff is so much better than the store bought stuff. And its surprisingly easy.

Note: The eggs are raw so it’s best to use local fresh eggs from someone you trust. We know lots of folks that make there own mayo that have never had a problem.

mayo1

Here are the ingredients you need:

  • 1.5 cups olive oil (its important you use a lighter flavored oil or it will overpower the mayo)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice
  • 1 tablespoon vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon ground mustard
  • 1/4 teaspoon paprika
  • Half garlic clove
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • Food processor

In the food processor, combine all ingredients except for the oil. Put the top on the food processor and turn on high. While the food processor is on, pour in the oil through the small hole at the bottom on the feed tube pusher. See picture below.

mayo3

If there is no hole, you will need to very slowly add the olive oil through the feed tube in a slow, steady stream. I would estimate it should take about 2 minutes to add the olive oil. Then let the processor continue to run for another minute. And there you have it!

mayo4

The lazy way to prepare artichokes is to boil them in hot water until you can stick a fork through it near the base. If you have leftover mayo, you can use it in our stuffed pepper recipe to make the stuffing moist and flavorful.

IMG_1671

Lolo’s Mom

20 thoughts on “How to Make Mayonnaise

  1. I’m terrible at making mayonnaise. But surely if I follow this step-for-step I can knock it out! Thanks! I printed it off to follow accordingly! I enjoyed browsing your blog! Looks awesome! Thanks for stopping by also! Have a great day!

  2. I wish I could like your post a hundred times!

    I am a firm believer in putting my money where my mouth is, and hope it catches on.

    People are willing to collectively spend BILLIONS every year on diet and quasi health food products. If we as a society shifted those purchases into buying higher quality food it would be revolutionary.

    The easiest changes for me were produce, grains, and dairy because they are relatively cheap to start with and the flavour pay off is instantly gratifying.

    Meat has taken longer, and happened on a piece by piece basis. Avoiding the red spray and styrofoam was an easy choice. I’d rather go vegetarian than eat that sprayed red meat, but the next step is tricky. We just go for the best quality that is available at the time.

    Community purchasing groups also help get the best quality for your money. It means being able to buy a whole steer or pig, making a deal with a local farmer for a share of his produce, buying from wholesalers, or even just sharing talents and sharing the labour for canning, baking, planting, harvesting, cooking, etc.

    Our money has power. Our food has value.

    • You are right! Community purchasing is a great option. We haven’t taken the plunge yet because of freezer space. Hopefully in the near future. I love the simplicity and clarity of the message in your last two sentences.

  3. Homemade mayo is the best! I was afraid to make it for months because of the raw eggs, but tuna salad made with Greek yogurt or avocado, while good, just isn’t the same. I finally bit the bullet and am so glad I did! Store-bought stuff just can’t compare.

  4. You have inspired me to try making mayo again this weekend. I tried a few months ago and wasted a lot of olive oil, it was a complete fail. I did use a blender so this time I’ll try the food processor. I don’t know if that makes a difference or not?? You make it sound easy!

    • I’ve failed several times using the blender and it’s SO depressing to waste all that olive oil. The Cuisinart food processor has yet to fail me! I’d love to know if you’ve tried it!

  5. Oooh I must try this! We eat artichokes with an egg vinaigrette (dijon mustard, olive oil, and balsamic vinegar, with a chopped hard boiled egg mixed in – garlic is optional) but I can see myself enjoying artichokes with homemade mayonnaise too!

  6. Pingback: Lolo’s Lunch — CrossFit Genesis Roseville Rocklin Granite Bay Sacramento Fitness

Leave a Reply

