How to Grill Halibut

IMG_1547

I have never grilled fish before. I worried I would overcook it or that it would stick to the grill. Certainly the second fear is a valid one. The easiest way to ruin grilled fish is to leave half of it stuck to your barbecue grate when go to take it off.

I started my prep by with a Google search; “how to clean barbecue grates.” I should mention I have a five year old 4 burner propane range that has grilled up plenty of steaks, chicken, and pork ribs over the years, but I can’t remember the last time it has had a proper cleaning.

The recommended cleaning method was to make a paste of half liquid dish detergent and half salt. Remove your grates from the barbecue, then lather and soak them in the paste for 20 mins. Rinse off with water and you are good to go.

I fully intended to try this method, but by the time I’d cleaned the outside as nice as I could (I was going to take some photos after all!) I realized I was nearing the end of my day light and also quickly getting hungry! So I did the next best thing and turned the grill on high letting it burn off the last cook, then helped it along by scraping it down with my barbecue brush.

I finished the grill prep by turning the barbecue back off and spraying it with Pam when it was cool again. I think this step is key. With that out of the way, onto the recipe!

IMG_1536

Ingredients

  • 1 lb Halibut fillet
  • 3 Tablespoons Butter
  • 3 Garlic Cloves, minced
  • About 1/2 Cup of Minced Parsley
  • Juice from 1 Lemon
  • Salt and Pepper to taste

Directions

Cut the halibut fillet horizontally so that one half is from the thickest part of the fish, and the other half is the thinner piece of fish. Cut these pieces in half again if you are worried about the evenness of the heat from your grill. Smaller pieces will allow you flexibility in your cook. You only want to flip once!

Melt the butter in a sauce pan over medium heat, then add the garlic and saute it briefly until it is aromatic. Add the parsley and let it cook 1-2 minutes. Remove the pan from the burner and add the juice from your lemon. Finish the sauce by adding some salt and pepper.

When the sauce has cooled enough for you to handle it, coat each of the pieces.

IMG_1541

Make sure you have sprayed your grill with a non stick coating like Pam (do this when it is off!), then turn your grill on high (gas), or have the coals already at their hottest. Place  the fish onto your grill. The thinner ones will be ready to flip in about 3 mins. The thicker ones in about 5 mins.

After flipping cook again for another 3 to 5 mins. Then remove from the grill, plate and serve!

Lolo’s Dad

Local Ingredients Used

The Little Fish Company Halibut – Bodega Bay

7 thoughts on “How to Grill Halibut

  1. It looks delicious! My favourite way to cook fish is to wrap it in aluminium foil with all the butter and herbs, then grill/pan fry it in the foil. Mmm!

  2. Ugh. The grill is my mortal enemy when it comes to any meat (or fish) not red. Although, I like Amy’s method with a rustic twist. Fish in foil with butter & herbs placed in hot coals from a camp fire can be to die for.

Leave a Reply

